3 chambres, 2 salles de bains, 8 couchages sur le bord du lac
Particulier / consommateur
Salle(s) de bain
Les réservations annulées au moins 60 jours avant le début du séjour pourront être remboursées à hauteur de 100%. Les réservations annulées au moins 30 jours avant le début du séjour pourront être remboursées à hauteur de 50%.
Nice cottage on the lake, the only drawback is bad odor upon arrival
In summary: the house and all amenities were as advertised. Nice cottage and a very convenient location for exploring the area. I'm taking off one star because of a bad odor in the house that was very pronounced upon our arrival and was still lingering after the week in the house. And now the details.
The owners were not very responsive in our pre-arrival communications. The day of arrival was smooth: Pat met us in the house on our arrival, had us to sign a contract, then showed us the place. To tell the truth, having to sign a contract (in addition to whatever I agreed via the VRBO) was an unexpected and an unwelcome part of the overall experience. All my further communication was with Pat through text messages on her cell phone (via a number different from the one listed in the ad), and she was responsive and helpful.
The house is nice and had all that was advertised in the listing. In real life it looked better than in the photos on the listing. It smelled very unpleasantly -- possibly from aggressive cleaning; the smell mostly disappeared by the next day but was still lingering days after. The kitchen had all pottery and dishes; my advise is to bring your own nonstick skillet, spices and cooking oil. The master bedroom's door was not locking and the pad on the bed was too soft to our taste (we removed it). Having a washer and drier in the house was a big convenience. The gas grill on the deck was great, we used it daily. It was nice to have the paddle boat. I fished from the paddleboat, had a nice time but haven't caught anything. The sunsets are spectacular! Mosquitoes didn't bother us most of the day, they start waking up around 7-8 pm. We brought our own DVDs, books and board games. The TV/ DVD player/ dish remotes were tricky or not working and I never figured how to use them; I used hard buttons on the TV/ DVD player instead.
About the area. Freddie's Family Market sells everything that you forgot to bring from home. T-Mobile data won't be available in 99% cases, including inside this cottage. The cottage location is great for outdoor adventures. We went kayaking on Au Sable river, swimming and disk golfing in Clear Lake Park, and explored a few hiking trails including the Sinkholes Pathway (it was the best). We even ventured to some two-track roads in our NON-offroad vehicle and got stuck on one of the sand dunes -- boy was that memorable! but DON'T do that.
Thank you Pat and George for a memorable vacation!
Thank you for your review. I am glad your family enjoyed your stay. I will have to look into the smell related to my cleaning products. Perhaps scent free products will be better.
Glad you enjoyed the beautiful sunsets.
George and Pat
Pat and George were great hosts and answered any questions we had quickly. The property was clean and held our family comfortably. It was perfectly located to watch 4th of July fireworks! We only wish there was air conditioning since this was a very hot week!
It has a nice view and is close to town
We stayed there for the Sno-drift rally. It was well located and had everything that we needed while we were staying there. The garage was perfect for working on our car as it was below zero especially at night when we needed to work on it. We fit 6 very comfortably.
Thank you for review. We hope you enjoyed your rally. Good luck on the next one.
NOT PLEASED AT ALL WITH THIS PROPERTY
My 1st complaint was that, we was told the property sleeps 12,but it actually sleeps 8 comfortably. 2nd, we was told to call 30 mins before arrival.... DID SEVERAL TIMES.....NO ANSWER. Had to wait 2 hrs before someone came to let us in. 3rd, the house didn't smell fresh and clean.... it had a smell to it. We were not satisfied at all with this property, and will not ever come back.
Idéalement situé à la fois le lac Huron et du lac Michigan. Une route au nord pour se rendre à Mackinaw City