Charmant cottage de caractère avec une touche contemporaine au coeur de ce village traditionnel des Cotswold avec ses cafés, pubs et magasins accueillants. idéal pour les escapades romantiques avec une grande baignoire et une douche séparée pour deux; belles promenades à pied et à vélo; pas besoin de prendre une voiture, des paysages spectaculaires en toutes saisons, facilement accessibles depuis Cheltenham et Oxford. Les sentiers de randonnée de Cotswold et de Winchcombe Way traversent la ville et les points culminants tels que Broadway, Bourton on the Water, Cirencester, Oxford et Stratford-upon-Avon se trouvent tous à 5-25 milles du chalet. Le chalet est bien placé pour le célèbre cours de course de Cheltenham. Le château de Sudeley, qui accueille chaque année en décembre un spectacle Spectacle de Lumière, se trouve à seulement 10 minutes de marche. Nous sommes l'un des rares chalets à accueillir votre petit chien bien élevé.
Central Winchcombe, Cotswolds, Angleterre - 5 minutes des magasins, des pubs et des promenades
Jay and Carol
- anglais, français
- Dernière mise à jour du calendrier :
- 11 déc. 2018
Salle(s) de bain
Type de destination
Salle à manger
Equipements de loisirs
Les réservations annulées au moins 30 jours avant le début du séjour pourront être remboursées à hauteur de 100%. Les réservations annulées au moins 14 jours avant le début du séjour pourront être remboursées à hauteur de 50%.
Well equipped, clean & comfortable cottage in good location.
We enjoyed a 3 night stay at the end of October. We found the cottage to be clean, tidy and very well equipped. The bed was comfortable and the duvet cosy, we slept well! The bathroom was spacious and modern, shower worked great, we opted to use the brown towels as they were larger and thicker. The boiler and central heating worked fine, we bought kindling and newspaper in order to use the logs provided. We found the lounge draughty (it was the first cold snap and we had frosty mornings and a north wind) we used the draught excluder but in our opinion a heavy door curtain would be more effective. We used the large red blanket to help keep us warm. We visited Broadway Tower, Bourton-on-the-Water (including the Motor Museum) and Batsford Arboretum. We used the parking app (handy if you don’t have change) it cost £1.40 per day for Back Lane car park. The back gate is very handy for accessing the car park too, literally a few minutes away. Thank you for providing a great little holiday home.
A lovely cottage in the centre of Winchcombe with everything we needed.
The cottage was just as we expected from the pictures. It felt cosy at night with the fire and was an ideal location to walk out from and explore the area which is just what we had planned. The road was surprisingly busy though and was a little noisy in the morning!! Apart from that, perfect.
Very relaxing in a convenient situation for cafes and pubs. Fabulous bathroom, comfy bed.
Stayed for four nights and will return during the winter. Great place to unwind and ideally situated if you don’t mind a bit of road noise. Comfortable throughout, with a pretty, well-maintained garden and convenient rear access onto quiet lane and carpark. Fabulous bathroom, comfortable bedroom, but watch your head on the beam by the window (we were warned - it’s all part of the character). Plenty of storage space to hang clothes. Fully-equipped, galley kitchen with view of raised garden - modernised and cheerful!
Thank you for your positive review Philippa. We are pleased that you enjoyed staying at Penny Cottage and appreciated its proximity to Winchcombe's many amenities. Please do come again this winter. The log fire will be waiting. And special thanks - you left the cottage immaculate !
Jay and Carol
Perfect base for the Cotswolds
The cottage is very stylish, comfortable, clean and well equiped. We will come again in winter just to try the fire! The location is great for all sorts of holidays, not just walkers. The town itself offers several eateries and Sudeley Castle should not be missed. Overall the property is great value for your money.
Both good and bad experiences
The response time from the owners was very good, as was the pre stay information sent out. This stated "If something falls short of the standard you expect, please speak to us directly during your stay. We prefer to resolve issues ASAP rather than react to negative comments after your visit". I was impressed by this as it led me to believe that the owners wanted to provide a good service. I seldom read reviews before I go anywhere as I like to make up my own mind as everyone is different.
On arrival at the cottage we quickly perceived that the cottage was not as clean as we expected, so rang the owners as requested. The first person I spoke to was very apologetic and they said they would contact Carol. Carol then rang and asked us to go back to the cottage to show her what wasn't clean. This we did.
Carol was clearly unhappy on arrival and totally ignored my husband as I introduced him. As I began to show her where the dust and dirt were, she made an excuse for everything for example thick dust on the base of the standard lamp " I had that out 2 weeks ago to change a bulb" ! debris behind the books "the wall is crumbling there's nothing I can do about it" perhaps remove it before guests arrive ! There were many other comments I wont go into but the final one was that there was thick soot on the chimney which was both in danger of a soot fall or catching fire. Carols reply "its character"! I asked her to clean the areas I had pointed out and for 20 minutes she banged around in an irksome manner and the cottage still wasn't clean to our standard when she left.
Our encounter with Carol totally took the edge of our holiday.
The back yard and garden furniture were dirty and needed weeding, paper and paint were peeling off in both the lounge and dining room, I suspect as a result of damp, the kitchen tap is loose and the bathroom taps difficult to use. The cottage is also on a busy street and is rather noisy. You can hear peoples conversations as they pass.
On the positive side there is a lovely modern and large bathroom, a cosy bedroom and adequate kitchen. The cottage is 90% there, its upkeep is quiet a long way off.
We wouldn't recommend or revisit the cottage, but Winchcombe is a lovely place and well worth a visit.
We are sorry that on this rare occasion our standards of cleanliness caused you such concern. We understand that you have allergies and this clearly made you extra sensitive to dust. There is no danger from the soot at the back of the open fire as we are obliged to have the chimney swept regularly for insurance purposes. In fact we noted you had attempted to remove the soot marks yourself during your stay. You found that they were indeed impossible to move. We do consider they are part of the "character' of the cottage and the fireplace is one of the popular features of the cottage. That said, our garden had suffered during the heatwave and then sprang back to life "overnight" after a short burst of rain. We agree there were weeds and these have now been cleared. We apologise that this spoiled your enjoyment of the patio. We have very quick turnarounds during the high season but the weeding should have been done before your arrival. Also, bigger maintenance jobs have had to be shelved until the low season when we can allow workmen in. There is no damp problem as we have had a specialists confirm this, but we are aware that the wall paper is coming adrift in the dining room. The tap does need adjusting but is functional. We have no other complaints about the bathroom taps we do suggest visitors leave the hot tap on low to get the hottest water if that is what you mean but that advice is set out clearly in our information pack. Much accommodation these days do not provide both free standing bath and walk in shower and these are usually praised by guests.
Finally, Carol refutes your comment that she failed to greet your husband. She remembers meeting him and saying hello. She was reluctant to engage because you were rather blunt and directional with her. Other guests have commented on how helpful and friendly she is so this is a one-off. Carol came and did all the cleaning you requested which was mainly dusting because of your allergies. She pulled out furniture upstairs and down to address your concerns and this is why you heard banging.
We believe this state of affairs was an exception but we do apologise again that your holiday was spoiled. We think you might prefer more modern streamlined properties in future. Our cottage has a contemporary feel but is over 200 years old and many guests appreciate aspects of its more rustic charm.
Very nice and comfortable
We found this little house very nice and comfortable. A good place to start walks in the beautiful Cotswalds. It is in the village, with shops and pubs nearby. The road can be a bit busy. There is a small garden in the back so you can sit outside (we didn't because of the heat but it is there).
Excellent facilllities in the house, good bathroom, washing machine, dishwasher. Everything works and is clean.
Vacances d'intérêt spécial:
Les marcheurs et les cyclistes sont les bienvenus;
maisons et sites historiques
Voiture utile mais bien desservie par les bus de et vers Cheltenham et Tewkesbury
Cheltenham 8 milles, Tewkesbury 6 milles
Plus de détails:
Restaurant étoilé Michelin n ° 5 à moins de 10 minutes à pied de la propriété; excellents pubs locaux et magasins d'antiquités
accès facile au circuit de course de Cheltenham - l'endroit à être pendant la semaine de coupe d'or
Informations supplémentaires sur les tarifs de location
Booking Notes: Full payment is required within 6 weeks of booking; There is an additional £25 extra cleaning fee per pet per week; maximum 2 small well behaved dogs who are not allowed on bed linen please. Cheltenham Race Festival , Christmas and New Year. Valentine's Night and all Bank Holiday weekends will attract a minimum night rate of not less than £85. A security deposit of £50 is charged per visit. This is fully refundable within 7 days of departure provided there is no discernible or irrevocable damage. Pet owners please note that we will decuct money if you allow dogs to soli bedding and towels. Logs provided for the first open fire between 31st October and 31 March only. Minimum 3 nights break; 2 night breaks considered but will attract a higher pro rata rate during high season Please note that we do not accept payments on the day of arrival or after the accommodation has been occupied. Also, cancellations made within 4 weeks of your arrival may not qualify for a full refund unless there are exceptional circumstances such as illness. Changeover Day: Friday to Friday, Friday to Monday, or Monday to Friday but can be flexible; please ask on booking. Notes on prices: The cottage costs from £55 per night for a minimum of 3 nights. Bank Holiday weekends, the Cheltenham and Paddy Power race weeks and Fri and Sat night only bookings between April and October will attract a higher pro rata or premium rate. Please request prices on application. Longer bookings can be as low as £50 per couple per night. Please ask on enquiry.